About CLAT

Click here for all CLAT Courses

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a non-statutory body created under a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the convenience of the students seeking admission to various National Law Universities in the country. An entrance test is conducted to provide a list of candidates on the basis of ‘merit- cum-preference’ to each University for admission to their UG/PG programmes, as per the eligibility, reservation and other criteria laid down under the respective statutes of the participating Universities.

Practice Test – 35 questions

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT), is an all India entrance examination, conducted on rotation by 187 National Law Universities (NLUs) for admissions to their Under-Graduate and Post-Graduate degree programmes. The 18 participating NLUs in the order of their year of establishment are:

List of Participating National Law Universities 

  1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  2. National Academy of Legal Study and Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)
  3. The National Law Institute University, Bhopal(NLIU)
  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
  5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
  6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
  7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
  8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
  9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab (RGNUL)
  10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna(CNLU)
  11. TheNationalUniversityofAdvancedLegalStudies,Kochi(NUALS)
  12. NationalLawUniversityOdisha,Cuttack(NLUO)
  13. NationalUniversityofStudyandResearchinLaw,Ranchi(NUSRL)
  14. NationalLawUniversityandJudicialAcademy,Assam(NLUJAA)
  15. DamodaramSanjivayyaNationalLawUniversity,Visakhapatnam(DSNLU)
  16. TamilNaduNationalLawSchool,Tiruchirappalli(TNNLS)
  17. MaharashtraNationalLawUniversity,Mumbai(MNLU)
  18. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Nagpur

The first CLAT Core Committee consisting of Vice-Chancellors of seven participating NLUs decided that a common entrance test shall be conducted by all the participating Universities on rotational basis in the order of their year of establishment. Accordingly, the first Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) was conducted in the year 2008. Presently there are 18 NLUs participating in CLAT and following the policy of rotation, the tenth Common Law Admission Test (CLAT 2017) shall be conducted by Chanakya National Law University, Patna(CNLU)

.Practice Test – 40 questions

Eligibility Criteria for Appearing in CLAT-2017

  1. Passed 10+2 or equivalent examination with the minimum of:-
    • Forty-five percent (45%) marks in case of candidates belonging to Unreserved/OBC/SAP (Specially Abled Persons) Categories and
    • Forty percent (40%) marks in case of candidates belonging to SC/ST Category.
  1. Candidates who are appearing in the qualifying examination in April/May 2017 are also eligible for appearing in CLAT-2017 examination. However, they shall be required to produce an evidence of their passing the qualifying examination at the time of admission, failing which they shall lose their right to be considered for admission.
  2. Age: (i) Candidates shall be below Twenty (20) Years of age as on 1st July 2017 in case of all Unreserved/NRIs/NRI Sponsored categories candidates.
    (ii) Candidates shall be below Twenty Two (22) years of age as on 1st July 2017 in case of SC/ST/ OBC/Specially Abled Persons (SAP) category candidates.

Pattern Of Question Paper

  • Maximum Marks: 200
  • Medium of Examination: English
  • Mode of Examination: Online
  • Duration of the Exam: 120 minutes
  • Total Number of Questions: 200 questions of one mark each
S.No. Subject Marks
1 English with Comprehension 40
2 General Knowledge with Current Affairs 50
3 Elementary Mathematics 20
4 Legal Aptitude 50
5 Logical Reasoning 40


Practice Test – 40 questions

SOURCE: www.clat.ac.in

Share This